Last night, The Magic Circle held it’s annual awards night. Awards are given to members for their outstanding contribution to magic, from literature, through to Comedy, and services to British and International magic.

The evening started in the clubroom with champagne and canapés, and then moved into the theatre with first half performances from Rajan and John Lenahan.

The whole second half was presented by Marc Paul, who performed part of his mind reading cabaret. The show was compared by Vice President, Richard Pinner, who performed some of his signature pieces, and the awards were presented by President, Scott Penrose. Organisation of the evening fell to Katherine Rhodes who did a splendid job.

The Magic Circle Awards 2015 Winners are:

The Devant Award for International Magic – Johnny Thompson MIMC (presented by Lance Burton via a video)lancetomsoni.003


The Maskelyne Award for services to British Magic – Marvin Berglas MIMC



The Carlton Award for Comedy – Paul Zenon MIMC



The John Nevil Maskelyne Prize For Contributions to Magic Literature – Ian Adair MIMC



The Cecil Lyle Award for the best trick published in The Magic Circular – James Ward MMC



Called to membership of The Inner Magic Circle with Gold Star – Jamie Raven MIMC



The Silver Wand for outstanding service to The Magic Circle – Don Robertson MIMC

don robertson


The Silver Wand for outstanding service to The Magic Circle – Peter Pinner MIMC (who sadly passed away two weeks ago. The award was received by his widow, June)

june pinner


You can read the official news item here:

Photo credits:
Photo of Awards – Katherine Rhodes via Twitter
Photo of Johnny Thompson – Lance Burton via Facebook
Photos of awards being presented – Bob Hamilton

Gordon Drayson

Professional Magician, working in the South London area. Close up magic, double act cabaret as well as UK Childrens Entertainer of the Year 2016/2017. Founding member of Magic Daily.

Websites: -

You May Also Like...