The Magic Circle held their annual awards night this evening and the results are in:

The David Devant Award

Awarded to those who have made a significant contribution in advancing the art of magic or who have given outstanding service to magic internationally. The trophy is a miniature bust of David Devant, the first President of The Magic Circle. The original life size bronze is on permanent display in our Headquarters.

Winner: Lance Burton MIMC

The Maskelyne Award

Awarded for services to British magic. The trophy is a sculpted head of John Nevil Maskelyne, founding father of a magical dynasty which presented magic in London for an amazing 60 years.
Winner: Dynamo MIMC

The Carlton Award

Given to a performer for outstanding comedy in magic. The award is a framed portrait of Carlton, ‘The Human Hairpin’, who was Britain’s leading comedy magician in the early part of the last century.
Winner: John Lenahan AIMC

The John Nevil Maskelyne Prize

The Magic Circle administers The John Nevil Maskelyne Memorial Fund. One of the objects of this Fund is to provide a monetary prize for noteworthy contributions by a member or non member of The Magic Circle to the art or literature of magic.
Winner: Harry Lorayne

The Cecil Lyle Award

Given to the author of the best trick published in The Magic Circular during the past year.
Winner: Katherine Rhodes MIMC

Congratulations to all the winners.

Gordon Drayson

Professional Magician, working in the South London area. Close up magic, double act cabaret as well as UK Childrens Entertainer of the Year 2016/2017. Founding member of Magic Daily.

Websites: -

You May Also Like...